In order to be eligible for a grant, applicants have to belong to one of the following categories:

  • regional and local public authorities;
  • associations of municipalities;
  • development agencies;
  • local business support organizations such as chambers of commerce, business centers, SME associations, sectoral associations, local trade associations, etc;
  • tourism and cultural organizations/associations;
  • non-governmental organizations, including the Red Cross and Red Crescent national societies;
  • public and private bodies supporting the work force;
  • national authorities/institutions with operations in the eligible area;
  • bodies and organizations (including NGOs) for nature protection;
  • bodies responsible for water management;
  • fire/emergency services;
  • schools;
  • colleges and educational and research institutes;
  • universities, including vocational and technical training institutions etc.